12/18/18 Wisconsin FFA Foundation Awards Annual SAE Grants

FFA members receive $23,920 in grant funds
MADISON, Wis. [December 18, 2018] – The Wisconsin FFA Foundation has awarded $23,920 in Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) grants to a total of 29 Wisconsin FFA members. These award winners are members of 18 FFA chapters statewide.
The 2018-19 Wisconsin FFA Foundation SAE grants were awarded in six categories: aquaculture, dairy, grain production, livestock, organic agriculture and start-up. Grant candidates were chosen based on the level and scope of their SAE, as well as their age, financial need, and future plans for their individual projects.
The SAE program allows students to apply concepts learned in the classroom to gain real-world knowledge and work experience. It is one of the three components of the state’s agricultural education model, which also includes FFA membership and classroom education.
“Our SAE grant sponsors invest directly in the hands-on learning of our agricultural education students, and truly make students' SAE projects possible,” says John Hromyak, Wisconsin FFA Foundation executive director. “During this holiday season, we are especially grateful for this support for our individual members, and excited to see the outcomes of their projects and hard work in the coming months.”
The 2018-19 Wisconsin FFA Foundation SAE Grant sponsors and grant recipients include:
Noah Hughes of the New Richmond FFA received an Aquaculture SAE Grant, sponsored by the Wisconsin Aquaculture Association.
Dairy SAE grants were sponsored by the Dairy Business Association, Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin, Foremost Farms USA, Nasco, Saputo Cheese USA and We Energies.
Dairy SAE Grants were awarded to the following recipients: Whitney Clason, Albany FFA; Rachel Pankratz and Jonathan Linzmeier from the Auburndale FFA; Kristi Cleven, Brookwood FFA; Welsey and Randy Winch from the Fennimore FFA; Jarrett Foster, Montello FFA; Hunter Holewinski, Landon Holewinski and Elena Jarvey from the Pulaski FFA; Kaitlyn Lietzke, Stevens Point FFA; and Anna and Zach Olson, both from the Southern Door FFA chapter.

In its second year, the Grain Production SAE Grant is sponsored by the Wisconsin Corn Growers Association. Two Grain Production grants were awarded to Ethan Hamann and Owen Jones, both members of the Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA chapter.
The Livestock SAE Grants continued to be sponsored by the Andis Foundation and Equity Cooperative Livestock Sales Association. Six Livestock SAE Grants were awarded to: Alexandra Nowak, Denmark FFA; Brent King, Ellsworth FFA; Trevor Messmer and Emily Strauss from the Lake Mills FFA; LilyAnn Tomashek, Pulaski FFA; and Kylee Sebranek, of the River Valley FFA chapter.
The Organic Agriculture SAE grant program was again sponsored by Organic Valley/CROPP Cooperative, Inc. and Viroqua Food Co-op. Jessica Bahr, of the Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA, received the only grant in this category.
Start-up SAE Grants were provided by the Andis Foundation, BlueScope Buildings and Sartori Company. Six grants were awarded to Cassidy Dahlke, Bay Port FFA; Reed Peter, Brillion FFA; Anna Seifert, Plymouth FFA; Macy Williams, Randolph Cambria-Friesland FFA; Austin Frese, Thorp FFA; and Mariah Thill, a member of the Turtle Lake FFA chapter.
The Wisconsin FFA Foundation, a 501 (c)(3) organization, unites individuals, organizations and companies who share a common interest in the advancement of agriculture and community leadership through FFA. You can support today’s FFA members by supporting the programs that have been core tenets of the FFA: proficiency awards, career development events, state FFA degrees, sectional leadership workshops, scholarships, chapter awards, agri-science fair, state FFA convention and state officer support. Learn more about the Wisconsin FFA Foundation and sponsorship opportunities by visiting www.wisconsinffafoundation.org.